Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems as well as practical problems To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement

Sometimes we have to live in a country where we have to use nonnative language. Some people believe that this situation will make problems in both social and practical matters. I completely agree with the statement and will explain the reasons.

Firstly, language is needed to communicate something, whether it is a long or short conversation. This is because language serves as communication barrier between people. Hence, not knowing the language that most people speak will cause serious social problems. For example, John just moved from United States to Japan where most people speak in Japanese. Because he does not understand Japanese, he finds difficulty in blending in with people in his neighborhood, and also with his co-workers in the office. As a result, John feel isolated and lonely in Japan.

Secondly, language can not be separated from any daily activity. All of our daily activities, from buying public transportation ticket to ordering food menu involve using language. Thus, if someone does not know language that is mostly used in a country, his daily activities will be hampered. For instance, Judah moved from United Kingdom to Taiwan, where the language that is used the most is Mandarin Chinese. When Judah comes to a restaurant, he finds it difficult to order a food because all of the food menus are written in Mandarin Chinese. As a result, he finds practical issue because his daily activity is hampered.

In conclusion, I completely agree that having to speak in a language that is not our mother language will cause both issues in social and practical matters because language is needed to communicate something, and language can not be separated from any daily activity.