Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems as well as practical problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement

These days many people reside in different countries far from their hometown, where they have to communicate in a foreign language And this can create issues which are social and practical. I have been to a foreign country and I agree with this idea.

The United Arab Emirates is well known for its tourism industry. The megacities Dubai and Abu Dhabi are the most crowded places in this country. I went to Dubai to work and travel and the first three or four months were amazing, I felt happy even I already had difficulties socializing with people. In my view, it was because of the language barriers. There are two official languages, the first is Arabic, and the second is English. Besides native speakers, everyone has a lack of proficiency to speak in English, especially myself. Consequently, there were many days that I had misunderstandings with people and sometimes it is funny, sometimes annoying.

Moreover, people may face practical problems, if they are not able to express themselves in a foreign language. As far as I am concerned, with a poor foreign language, it is challenging to understand faster the culture of a certain country. For instance, in Russia taking one beautiful girl’s photo without her consent is a perfect way to start the conversation, but in Arab countries. I have seen one man was taking a selfie on the metro in Dubai. The woman was sitting in front of him started to shout until he explained the situation. Another example, again I was on the metro, chewing gum did not notice a sticker which is warning that chewing gum is prohibited. Because that time I did not know the word “to chew”. The metro officer came to me and wrote a fine worth $35, explaining the rules politely with a bright smile.

All in all, I completely agree that there are social and practical problems where you have to communicate in a foreign language. It is better to learn a language and culture before going to another land.