Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It has been a controversy over linguistic usage in countries. It is often argued that living in a country where you have to use a second language can lead to major social and practical problems. In my opinion, I partly agree with the given statement, justifying that there are some opposite ideas.

On the one hand, it is conceivable that difficulties in language use often lead to social problems. Firstly, speaking a second language can provide non-native speakers with a sense of shyness and feeling insecure as it sounds unfamiliar to them. This decreases people's confidence to speak in public and make new friends, which separates individuals from the surrounding people. Secondly, the ability to utilize language properly can be taken into account for practical problems. A low level of language skills often leads to difficulties in study and self-improvement. For example, an overseas student cannot obtain impressive academic performance with a poor language level. Lastly, misunderstandings in the means of conveying opinions in another language may hamper a person to assimilate to a new culture as they can not understand thoroughly the situations.

However, it is not always the case when using a second language can contaminate people’s life aspects. Fluency in language utility is undeniably the one exception. As long as people acquire decent language skills, their confidence will be enhanced and there will be no more shyness. Moreover, people with high language levels can easily achieve flying scores and outstanding performance thanks to a deep understanding of things described in a second language.

In conclusion, despite some compelling evidence that a second language often causes hindrances to people’s social life, I still believe that it is not always right as the language level not only solves the existing problems but also brings positive outcomes.