Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It has been a hot debate topic regarding language usage in foreign countries. Many people believe that living in a country where people have to speak a non-native language can result in serious problems both socially and practically. From my personal perspective, I just partly concur with the statement, given some rebuttals that are going to be discussed in the essay.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that having to speak a second language in a foreign country can often lead to social issues. First, the fear of using the language accurately provides people with a sense of shyness and uncertainty, which makes them feel unconfident in the public and decide not to participate in social activities. This in the long term would cause autism and the incapability to communicate with other people, separating that particular individual from the rest of the majority. Moreover, the inability to speak a foreign language also has some practical problems on people’s regular communication. If a person is incapable of speaking the local language, they will face a lot of difficulties when going to the groceries or shopping at the supermarket. In addition, with organization, people will have less probability of being promoted, given their linguistic limits which obscure them to express their initiatives and fully convey their opinions.

However, it is always the case when not being able to speak a second language can seriously exploit people’s lives since there are several ways to improve the situation. To be more specific, language skills can be acquired and sharpened over time, equipping individuals with sufficient confidence to speak to the local residents or have exchanges in terms of daily affairs. Therefore, as long as people are willing to improve their language level, assimilating and talking to other people are no longer impossible tasks.

In conclusion, despite the compelling evidence that a second language often offers hindrances to people’s social life, I believe the situation can be easily tackled with some aforementioned solutions.