Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In this day and age, some people believe living in a country which requires the use of a foreign language on a daily basis may have several detrimental impacts on individuals in terms of social and practical aspects. However, I partly disagree with this statement since its merits may outweigh its drawbacks in the long run.

On the one hand, people have to face numerous difficulties when starting a new life in a foreign country because of language barriers and culture shocks. A typical example is that when students choose to study abroad, some may find it hard to socialize with other mates due to the fear of being laughed at when not using a foreign word properly, which can cause a sense of isolation. More seriously, since the new citizens do not understand and follow the laws, they may unintentionally violate them and be punished strictly which may do harm to their future career.

On the other hand, as long as individuals are well-equipped with proper knowledge of the nation, they are able to mitigate the risk of getting involved in trouble. Students who have not been accustomed to the new living environment need encouraging by other peers and adults to overcome these hardships. As a result, they can facilitate their academic path as well as enhance more social skills effectively. Besides, people should make use of ample opportunities that a foreign country offers to develop a new language skill and broaden their horizons which may benefit their future.

To conclude, although it is undeniable that a number of problems may occur at the beginning of living in a country with the foreign-language speaking requirement, the advantages you can gain from a new living environment is believed to outweigh its downsides gradually.