Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems

With closer communication and cooperation worldwidely, people are traveling or immigrating more frequently in modern world. I am quite convinced by the claim that speaking a foreign language in a country could bring many problems, both socially and practically.

Being limited by the level of a foreign language, individuals might have to deal with many unexpected practical problems. Some Europeans or Americans who have never had Chinese food before may find difficulty in ordering food in china. From my experience, some foreigners in china will choose some restaurants only because there are pictures of food in the menu. Or even, they have to go to world chained fast food restaurants such as Burger King and KFC for easier choice.

In addition, some social problems might also caused due to linguistic reasons and different cultural backgrounds in a foreign country. Based on the argument that most of citizens in china cities do not have any religious belief, they might seem too interested in the religious ceremonies or other activities related to local religions, even some being too private to be spotted. There are reports that Chinese people travelling to Muslim countries went to the local place for appriciation of the architectures in a religion area but were sentenced into jail because it was considered rude behavior to watch the ceremony as a tourist.

In conclusion, despite the fact that the world is becoming more and more connected, some social and practical problems can still be possibly caused if you live in a country with a foreign language. A good suggestion would be to learn the local language and culture as much as you can before moving there.