In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transportDisucss both the

Traveling by trains between cities and countries has become a mainstream means in modern society, especially with the development of fast trains. While some argue that investment should be put to existing transport system, I believe it would be better to invest on new railway constructions.

The currently-used public transport has served for years to support early transportations. The old cursive roads with up and downs not only brought new goods and concepts to remote villages in the mountains but also introduced its culture to the modern society.

However, it might need more capitals to improve the roads above than building new lines to adapt to the advanced technology, such as fast trains. Firstly, cost will be used to move out the old tracks. And then more people and equipments will be needed to do lots of measurements of the capability of this area to see if it suits the new type of tracks. Moreover, it might be quite risky to construct new railway upon the old lines because of the obsolete facilities used years ago.

To build new lines will also offer good chances for development in new districts, which has been proved in most cities in china. A good example will be the city of hefei, where most of the fast trains go to the recently built south railway station and old trains remain heading to the previous destination at hefei station in the north. By separating the use of old and new, both of the northern and southern parts of the city have become more balanced in economy.

To conclude, despite some so-called convenience of the existing transport, i would agree with the opinion that large sums of capitals should be spent on constructing new railway lines mostly considering advanced level of technology and more balanced development.