Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems.To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Language gap is a significant issue for people who migrate to other countries. It is often argued that people would face serious difficulties when living in a country where speaking its native language is necessary. In my view, I partially agree with that and I believe speaking foreign language could make people integrate into other society easily.

It is unquesionable that speaking other nations' language incurs grave issues in terms of various aspects. Firstly, people would encounter difficulties in cultivating well relationship with their peers or classmates at the college. A vivid example could be observed among international students─Students who persue degree overseas often face serious problems such as incorporating themselves into the local students because both of whom speak distinct languages and be growned in disparate nationalities and culture. In this way, overseas students are incapable of interacting with native students effectively. Secondly, people may be treated unwellcomed due to the fact that they are incompetent of speaking the native language in the workplace. To demonstrate, employees from other countries may face discrimination of the local people and colleague. Thus, speaking foreign language induces social problems to some extent.

On the other hand, to speak the native language in the adopted country could make people assimilate into the society more simply. As language is an essential tool for human to communicate with each other, speaking languages of other country would narrow the gap between native speaker and the alliens. This is particularly true in France where people who speak French would be more accepted and welcomed by the native people. Hence, speaking foreign language is conducive.

All in all, as I have argued above, even though there is several negative impacts on socializing and the relationships at school, I side with the fact that speaking other countries' language is beneficial immigrants or international students.