Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign languga can cause serious social problems, as well as pratical problems.

To what extend do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In the modern world with the expeditious pace of the globalization, more and more people can live,study and work abroad. Some people think that this cause some solemn problems in society when communication by using foreign language . i partly agree with this statement. In this essay, i would like to mention about the negative and positive of speaking other language when living in other country.

On the one hand, living aboard bring us a large number of advantages . Firstly, we can widen knowledge about new culture, new lifestyle, new customs ,... and discovery new things that we have never known before. Secondly, this is not help we widen knowledge but also give them more chances to make international friends from that our relationship will be more extensive. For instance, you are a study aboard student in Finland and you can speak both English and Finnish, it is easy for you to make friend with native and international people. Finally, when you study a new language, you will help more opportunities to advance in the future , more language more successes, so that it is convenient for you to contact fluently with foreign people. Nevertheless, the coin has two sides and this is not an exception.

On the other hand, speaking a language that is not our mother language also bring us some disadvantages. First of all, linguistic difference can cause some troubles in society involve relationships, taboos ,customs,... . For example, if you go to Korea to study, they are speak Korean, that will be a distance between you and your friends, you can be feel isolated , or if you have a cross-cultural marriage, you may have a strict forbiddance by your parents-in-law. The next problem is that you can be misunderstood in the way that you communicate with indigenous people, maybe because of the voice that some native people can not understand. And last but not least, in all my truthfulness, there are still exist the discrimination in some nations between immigrants and native people, especially at working and studying environment . For instance , student can be bulled by their classmate because of the difference about language and country .

In conclusion, living and talking a foreign language bring you a lot of intriguing experiences but also cause some troubles . If you want to gain the success, at first you have to win yourself, be stronger and be independent to cope with all problems that you will face whilst living abroad.