Living in large cities today poses many problems for people.

What are these problems? Should governments encourage more people to live in smaller towns?

Does total urbanization introduce more obstacles than solutions to the everyday routine of citizens? It is an open secret that hustle and bustle of metropolitan cities could put the nerve system of people under a lot of pressure while nature of the rural areas can nurture the positivity and stress-free mind. Thus, some experts claim that metapolicies create a vast majority of troubles such, as traffic jams and shortage of residential space, for people and one possible solution to ease the cause and effect of the mentioned issue is to propose governmental incentives with the aim to motivate citizen to migrate to urban, unpopulated regions.

The cost of living in the big cities is increasing dramatically over the past few decades, since more and more people move to well-developed areas with advanced economies to pursue the dream of better life. The straightforward result is that there appear issues connected with environmental situation, air pollution, overpopulation, and lack of housing. Taking a deeper look, one can conclude that traffic is one of the greatest issues. For example, in Moscow or New York it could take more that 5 hours to commute to work in rush hours, while in Mumbai people can hardy drive at all, as lots of different vehicles are at roads at once making it impossible. What is more, overpopulation creates peaked demand for rental and personal housing, while supply cannot satisfy 100 percent of desired. This fact does definitely not ease the problem with the poor living in slumps, such that as in Mexico City, often without proper sanitation and needed facilities.

The only solution is the introduction of governmental incentives to encourage people to move to some less populated regions. One proposition is to smoothly motivate citizens to follow downshifting schemes by creating smart advertising and street banners with the message stating the advantages of rural areas. The second path is investment in rural infrastructure, such as well-planned school facilities, improved medicine and healthcare, and more importantly housing options. It is evident that the aforementioned transformations will encourage people not to move to big cities or even will stimulate citizens to migrate to far-fetched areas with intact nature and low level of stress.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that living in a large city brings many advantages. However, the citizens today are dealing with countless problems in their routine life. Therefore, I personally believe that the government should encourage them to migrate to smaller towns by building more facilities to attract them.