Maintaining public libraries is a waste of money since computer technology can replace their functions. Do you agree or disagree?

Nobody can deny the growth of digital library resources. Some people argue that the development in technology as now can replace traditional library. I completely disagree this statement.

On the one hand, it is true that both conventional libraries and virtual ones have some same functions so virtual libraries can us as alternative. They have paved the way for access to a wide range of information. In addition, the development of computer science has brought more benefits for our life. Everyone can approach easily a great deal of information resources wherever they want instead of going to traditional libraries to search for them. Moreover, the information on the Internet regularly update which public libraries can not do that.

On the other hand, I still believe that public libraries have some functions that computer libraries can not take over. For example, traditional library is the best place that provide a great self-study zone with sound-proof rooms and fully-equipped materials for people especially students and undergraduates. They usually go to library to search more information for their thesis or sometimes they choose this to discuss with other team members to do homework. Besides, users have access to more reliable information. Nowadays, more and more online information that is publicized on the Internet can lead to a misinformed public whereas traditional libraries keep valuable materials.

In conclusion, I would argue that there are certain roles of public library that virtual library difficultly take over. I believe that it is not true when considering public library as waste of money.