The only way to improve safety of our roads is to give much stricter punishments for driving offences. What extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that driving offences should be taken many types of stricter punishment to improve safety when people take part in traffic on roads. While I accept that stricter punishment is one of the most effective way, I believe that there are many other measures to reduce accidents.

On the one hand, it is true that stricter punishment can solve many problems of road accidents which can be caused by drivers who exceed the speed limit or use mobile phone while driving, if drivers know that they can receive some punishments like serving a prison sentence because of their harmful habits they will likely become law-abiding citizens and be more carefully drive person. This, therefore, reduces a number of traffic accidents.

On the other hand, governments have many types of measures apart from stricter punishment to protect traffic participants. Firstly, enhancing a number of traffic policemen in the regularly accident roads to ensure nobody breaks the law. People are less likely to have criminal acts when policemen are in there. Secondly, raising people’s awareness about the harms of traffic violation is the most effective way to decrease the number of crashes. It is necessary to educate students when they study in primary school by organizing some competitions or answering the question about signs as well as traffic rules, or even watching the images about the accident images, for example. Finally, authorities should spend more money in improving technology as well as using more devices to control traffic on road such as installing camera at the hot traffic points.

In conclusion, it is certainly true that stricter punishment is a measure to reduce a number of traffic accidents, but I believe there are many other solutions can also deal with this problem.