Maintaining public libraries is a waste of money since the computer technology is now replacing their functions. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people hold the view that the construction of public library is unnecessary due to the existance of online reading. I agree with this idea.

People can get access to more study resourses by searching online. Using a computer is convenient for readers to seek a wide range of e-books in short time. This means people obtain more choices on books, which is beneficial to broden their horizons. For example, people can learn different writing style and ideas when searching for books which describe the same historical period. This enable them to futher learn the ones that they prefer to read and know some about other people's unique viewpoints at the same time. In contrast, the volume of books are limited and people's options are also restricted.

In addition, building a public library is time-consuming. To create a commual library, the government construct high buildings and series of facilities to cointain a large volume of people and books. This means local authority need to spend a lot of money and hiring extentive labour to finish such a gaint project. Particularly, the government may spend the funds that should be invest on education and healthcare. Such waste can cause damage to citizens' quality of life.

However, building a library enables people to read book with more enthusiasm. Libraries provide space for people to read together, so that they are more likely to be focused after influenced by the atomosphere. For instance, people have no choice but to read if all others around are reading. Therefore, they get futher exposed to reading andtheir interest towards reading can alsobe developed.

In conclusion, public library is unnecessary because online reading provides more choices and it's also a waste of resourses to construct a library.