Maintaining public libraries is a waste of money since computer technology is now replacing their functions. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In modern society, there are widely different schools of thought on the issue of whether the expenditure on maintenance of public libraries is no longer necessary since the avance technology can supersede its function. In my point of view, I am opposed to such an idea due to ample justifications.

First and foremost, documents in state - run libraries enable readers to approach reliable knowledge, which the internet cannot. This is attributable to publisher's attempts to protect their reputation by providing censored, sorted and updated information which is of enormous use for academic researchs. In contrast, the quality of online content that we could find is not ensured; therefore, people can access overstated and fake news, leading to unexpected conflicts or severe consequences. For example, there are numerous forums share about medicine treatment. However users do not have to be responsible for what they say, they supply inaccurate or even wrong information causing severe health problems for receivers.

In addition, libraries offer an ideal environment for working or studying. By investing a large amount of money in public reading - rooms, they become great places with adequate infrastructures for people to handle their tasks. This is really convenient for residents who have to live in hot and small rooms that make people uncomfortable to carry out their duties. In addition, the quiet atmosphere in the libraries can give us a perfect sense of concentration and foster our creativity; hence, it could facilitate improvements in overall effectiveness. Meanwhile, online platform users tend to be distracted by notification from social media and other applications, leading to lower productivity.

In summary, although the edge - cutting technology brings many advantages, public own merits. It is essential for governments to develop both of them.