Some people believe that it is more important to teach children the literature of their own country than other countries. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, there are widely different schools of thought on whether local literature should have a greater position than the foreign one in children’s education. In my point of view, I believe that they are equally important and should be taught in school for the development of children.

On the one hand, there are ample justifications why it is essential for students to learn national literary works . First and foremost, locally written works could foster patriotism among children. For example, through poems and novels about revolution, youngsters could profoundly understand the sacrifice of their ancestors to protect freedom. Therefore, they would treasure the liberty that they enjoy today, and make attempts to contribute to the prosperity of their country. In addition, local literature provides students with knowledge not only about nature but also the culture of their motherland. Take Dat Phuong Nam as an example. This novel helps kids to know more about natural scenes and cultural heritages of Vietnam.

On the other hand, learning world literature should not be underestimated.

Firstly, the collaboration between foreign literary works and the local one could boost student’s literary appreciation. This is because learning the aforementioned genres of literature gives students opportunities to be exposed to numerous writing styles of literary geniuses around the world which enable them to broaden their horizons and cultivate their way of creative thinking. Moreover, the literature of other countries helps learners access different traditions. Thus, it is possible for them to prevent culture - related problems and expand their social network in oversea countries.

In conclusion, due to their own merits, either national literature or world literature play a vital role in education.