Many people believe that scientific research should be carried out and controlled by the government rather than private companies. Do you agree or disagree?

In modern society, there are widely different schools of thought on whether scientific studies should be supervised by authorities or privately - owned enterprises. In my point of view, I believe that such responsibility should be handled by both parties for the sake of humankind.

On the one hand, there are ample justifications why the aforementioned duty should be carried out by the state. First and foremost, the authorities could ensure the security and morality of these studies. As a case in point, researches involving nuclear power should be implemented by government, since it is possible that privately - owned companies may produce and sell nuclear weapons for other, especially terrorism, resulting the instability in our society. Moreover, the primary priority of research of the government is improving human lives; therefore, they could enable people to approach reliable knowledge from their studies. Meanwhile, the ultimate aim of private corporations is profit; thus, they may provide inaccurate information that manipulate people’s shopping behaviour.

On the other hand, profit - driven organisations have their own strengths to conduct scientific research. From financial perspective, by investing money in science - related studies, those companies are able to ease the pressure on the government's coffers. As a result, the state would have more expenses to address other social issues such as education and healthcare. Moreover, the participation of private enterprises may lead to a higher chance of breakthrough in science, enhancing individuals’ living standards. For example, the invention of Windows operating system by Microsoft corporation facilitates people’s accessibility to the virtual world, which, in turn, helps to update the latest information and broaden horizons.

In conclusion, due to their own merits, either government or profit - oriented organizations play a vital role in taking part in scientific research