Maintaining public libraries is a waste of money since there is computer technology. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Over the past few years, the issue of maintaining public libraries has become highly controversial. Some people point out that the governments and municipalities have to preserve public libraries while others hold a different view. In this essay I will examine both sides of argument and provide my personal opinion.

Generally speaking, there are two main reasons that public libraries should be kept from the governments and municipalities. The main reason is why people in favor of this issue is because it has valuable just only reason of historical building. A good illustration of this is that in Korea, there has law that old building is listed to cultural heritage since it was 100 years. Secondly, still many people use them especially reading a newspaper, take part in youth program and searching various information.

Despite these arguments, there is also a case for the idea that nowadays we can replace libraries through developed technology. If we want to search about something, we would be able to acquire it from smart phone and also most people have had it. Secondly, developed technology is really useful. For example, Using computer or smart phone do not need to move and wast time. Because it can be just only click and touch.

In conclusion, this is a topic which is very relevant in modern society. Despite arguments to the contrary, I contend very strongly that public libraries should be preserved. If not, we might be able to lose the part of history.