Maintaining public libraries is a waste of time since digital technology is now replacing their function. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people think that the government should not invest money in public libraries because online libraries also have their functions. Although, computer technology has some benefits, I side with the view that it can not replace physical libraries.

On the one hand, online libraries help administrative employees look up information at ease. Consequently, those who have a hectic schedule can not visit physical libraries during a limited operating hours. Furthermore, online library can store an enormous amount of information that is greater than any public libraries. Small-sized physical libraries, for instance, are not enough space to contain a huge number of bulky books such as the complete Sherlock Holmes, Harry Porter and encyclopedia, while computer technology has functions that enable us store them with only several gigabytes.

On the other hand, public libraries have many positive influences on readers, which fail to be substituted by online sources. Firstly, libraries are still one of the most popular means of accessing information among senior citizens, regardless the availability of computer technology. In Viet Nam for example, almost elderly people are technophobes and unaware of recent developments in computer technology , so that, traditional libraries are their preferred option. Secondly, public libraries are considered a more reliable and accuracy source of information. The reason for this is that books in physical libraries are carefully categorized by library staffs. Meanwhile, online libraries are likely to have a harmful information ranging from pornographic to reactionary content, as a result, they might detrimentally impact on reader’s behavior, especially young people.

In conclusion, while there are some advantages of online libraries, I believe that it is worth preserving public libraries because they play a crucial role for human.