Many business owners find that their staff lacks sufficient interpersonal skills such as the ability to cooperate with their coworkers. What are the causes? Can you suggest some possible solutions?

A question has been raised over whether employees nowadays are insufficient in necessarily soft skills, especially team-working. This appears to be the consequence of technology’s growth and stability job. To dwindle the trend of this problem, some action should be taken by companies.

The first aspect to consider regarding the reason for the limitation in coordination among colleagues concerns the appeal of technology. Obviously, more people prefer looking down to their phone, tablet or computer screen to update news to communicating with their partners. Thanks to this, people eventually get no interest in sharing their problems, which can gradually lead to the low efficiency in work and leave a gap in relationship among them. Furthermore, competitiveness makes people hide away their secret principles or know-how in working since they are nervous if their coworkers can imitate or do better than they do. As a consequence, they minimize working with others in order to prevent their position from being replaced.

On that basis, in order to encourage team cooperation among staff, companies should renew their policies or working environment. Firstly, they can take into account the control of using technology in the working space and create more teamwork-oriented events. Having meals together is one of the best ways to connect people, for instance, companies can promote eating time together activities such as happy lunch or dinner, where using phones to swipe social media are prohibited. In that way, people can find more time to connect to their partners and feel involved in their companies. One day, they might change their mind that coworkers are their friends and working together can help to improve not only each other but also their company as well.

In conclusion, due to the increasing fourth industrial revolution and the importance of job security, people tend to ignore the ability to cooperate with their colleagues. As long as this still happens, companies should change their way of connecting and inspire their staff in the workplace.