Many childhood diseases can now be prevented through the use of vaccines Should praents be made by law to immunise their children against common disease or should individuals have the right to choose not to immunise their children Give reasons for your an

For many years, vaccines given to a child at birth have helped to prevent many childhood diseases. Tremendous awareness of various vaccines has been made by many organisations as well as the government. However, whether immunisation of children against diseases should be made by law or individuals to have a right to decide immunisation for their children is a matter of argument.

Before vaccines were introduced, many diseases among young children were reported. Newborn children would have low immunity due to which they would be easily prone to diseases. People were not able to understand how they could prevent this forthcoming. In some cases, children would get infected with diseases that would stay with them all their lives, for example, Polio. As science advanced, various vaccines were developed to cope with most of the childhood diseases. Government and other non-profit organisations started taking initiatives to educate people about the availability of vaccines and how it could prevent many diseases.

It is argued that immunising children against common diseases should be made by law. Vaccines are extremely necessary but some may not be affordable by all. Also, it is observed that not many hospitals and private clinics have made this facility available with them. Moreover, not all vaccines may be required to be taken by all children as some may or may not suit their body. Therefore, to constitute immunisation of children by law may have some drawbacks.

On the other hand, if individuals are given the right to choose immunisation for their children, there could be some disadvantages too. Some people may not find it necessary to use vaccines as they feel it is not effective. Some assume that since they never got affected by diseases without vaccines, their child too will not be affected. In addition to this, some may take only a few vaccines as per their choice and knowledge. If people continue to do all this, childhood diseases may become difficult to prevent.

To conclude, some important vaccines should be made by law so that childhood diseases can be prevented.