Many children are encouraged by their parents to get a part time job in their free time. What are the advantages and disadvantages to children of doing so.

Recently, the trend of doing part-time jobs has increased among students and many parents have welcomed this development. While studying and working simultaneously is advantageous financially, it is often stressful and negatively impacts the performance of students.

The benefit of working along with studies is that it eases burden of parents. The quality education has become expensive in most countries and parents often find it difficult to afford sending their children to good schools and colleges. Especially in countries where public education has poor standards, parents are forced to pay hefty fees in private institutes to ensure bright future for their kids. In such scenario, if students contribute towards their education by earning their tuition fee, it can alleviate financial burden of their parents massively. For instance, In US, older population can save for their retirement because it is mandatory for every college kid to work and contribute in his fee. Moreover, it teaches youngsters value of money and also gives them a sense of financial security.

However, working along with studies often results in low grades and stress among pupils. The academics have become extremely competitive and students have to work twice as hard to cope up with this fast paced world. In this situation, managing a job along with daily lectures becomes burdensome and pupils often perform abysmally in school. Some even fail frequently and decide to quit their degree, leading to an increase in under-qualified population. In UK, for instance, many people drop out of high school because they cannot manage studies while making a living.

To conclude, many parents have begun encouraging their children to work while completing their education. Although this helps parents in becoming able to manage money conveniently, it also makes students suffer academically. Therefore, if parents can afford education of their children, undoubtedly they should stop them from doing job in their free time and support them in completing their degrees timely.