Some people think that in the modern world we are more dependent on each other, while others think that people have become more independent.Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is argued that trend of depending on each other has increased with modernization. However, an opposing view claims that people are actively achieving independence with advancing time. Although both sides have convincing arguments, I believe that individuals have become less reliable on each than ancient times.

One reason people proclaim that dependency has increased as compared to past times is rapid globalization. This means a rise in communication among masses from various parts of world has led to lives becoming massively intertwined. Hence, people look up to one another to fulfill their basic needs. Trade of food supplies, for instance, has risen tremendously in recent decade due to better command over land and sea routes. Consequently, many people are dependent on imported vegetables and fruits harvested by masses from far-off countries in order to cater their dietary requirements. Another form of dependency has descended on modern humans in the form of economic reliability. With an improvement in life expectancy due to breakthroughs in medical sciences proportion of older population has increased remarkably. Since this fraction of population does not remain capable of staying in workforce, they have to rely on younger generation for financial support. Moreover, a rise in population of children due to decline in infant mortality has also added to ratio of dependency group.

However, in my opinion, these arguments do not live up to the scrutiny and individual independence is rampant in current era. To begin with, joint family system has plummeted significantly over the years as more people are moving out of their parental homes. These individuals not only buy separate residential places to live but also strive to achieve financial independence in order to design their lives according to their own choices. Moreover, with modernization younger age groups are entering into work force to accomplish financial self-sufficiency. In America, for instance, lower age limit of most entry level employees has decreased to an average sixteen years in last five years as compared to eighteen years before that. In addition to this, the concepts of privacy and interpersonal space have recently become popular among adolescents and middle-aged population leading to a more independent model of society.

To sum it up, Some people insist modernization has led to a rise in dependency as compared to ancient times but reality is quite opposite. I strongly believe social development has paved a way to sheer independence of population and only time will tell whether it is a positive development.