Many children today find it difficult to concentrate or pay attention at school.What could you think are the main causes?What are the possible solutions ?

It is true that children face a lot of strains these days while sitting in a classroom and they cannot focus on their academic study well due to various reasons. Even though there are certain problems, parents and teachers can take proactive steps to mitigate this issue completely.

There are many reasons behind the lack of concentration by children in schools. First and foremost, children often tend to use mobile phones or laptops as they are greatly influenced by advanced technology. As a result, they cannot stay a long time in a conventional classroom without operating such devices. Naturally, they develop discomfort in the classroom and they fail to attend whole class with higher concentration, whereas their mind will be in newer electronic gadgets instead of academic subjects. Moreover, since children have much more workload to study in schools in a limited time frame, they always try to save time as much as they can. For example, most of the pupils skip their meals, particularly breakfast to get a few amount of time for studying. This habit would negatively affect the physical health status of them, which will reduce the concentration ability. Besides, obviously, they become fatigued and weak because of the decreased level of glucose and energy. Environmental pollution and eating habits are two other reasons to affect students physically and mentally. This causes them to focus less on classes. Moreover, family issues, parents’ lack of attention and scarcity of qualified teachers are some other reasons that create this problem.

However, these issues can be addressed effectively if certain steps are taken by parents and teachers. I believe the most obvious solution is that parents should control their children in the use of technological devices such as iPad, computers and smartphones, which helps to avoid physical and psychological health issues to a greater extent. It also reduces wavering nature of mind considerably and attention span would increase vastly. A further step would be - teachers and parents should teach students proper time management skills. Therefore children can fulfil responsibilities and duties without consuming more time. Another possibility is that nutritional lessons should be arranged in the school setting for improving the awareness among children regarding the adequacy of well-balanced diet while studying. Establishing schools in a calm and beautiful place, adding more fun while learning, arranging training for teachers regarding their behaviours towards children and a maintaining a healthy child-parent relationship can boost up the children’s attention in classrooms.

To conclude, despite certain causes for the lack of children’s attention in classes, parents and teachers can solve this issue properly if they take correct precautions. So I hope concerned authority will consider these methods, while students possess such problems.