In many cities crime is increasing. Why do you think this is happening? What can governments do to help reduce crime levels?

In the temporary world, offences seem to appear more and more in many metropolitans. While there are various reasons causing this phenomenon, some measures should be implemented to improve this situation.

The first reason is the income gap differs significantly between the social classes. When the asset of the riches increases day by day, the daily life of the opposite class becomes more miserable. Therefore, needy people need to conduct fraud, smuggling or even human and drug trafficking to earn living by taking the money of the wealthy men. The second main reason is the essential role of money in modern and developed life. Because finance is one of the most crucial priorities of each individual, they can do anything as possible to gain commercial benefits, including carrying out various behaviours that against the law. Most of the white-collar criminals are motivated by their rapacity.

In order to solve this situation, some solutions can be taken into consideration. Firstly, the government needs to improve the living condition of the poor people by providing much more welfare, contributing the food and essential objects. The budget for these activities can be gained by increasing the taxes. Secondly, the moral education at the school should be focused by not only the education system but also all society. This measure can help raise people’s awareness about the real values and realize what behaviours should be avoided. Moreover, to enforce the law effectively, all citizens should have the consciousness to comply with national policies and rules.

In conclusion, although crime is a serious problem in many developed cities, we are still able to define exactly the roots of that and find the best suitable ways to process that.