In many cities today, most people live in large apartment blocks.

Does this kind of accommodation have more advantages or more disadvantages?

Give reasons for your answer and include relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

People make choices about the kind of accommodation they prefer to live in considering their budget, specific requirements and suitability. In the contemporary era, most people prefer large apartment complexes over isolated houses due to various reasons. A few others would go for a house rather than an apartment because of the increased privacy and more independence. However, I personally believe that advantages of living in an apartment visibly outweigh the disadvantages.

To begin with, one of the greatest benefits an apartment has to offer is convenience such as sports facilities, laundry facilities, pools and security around the clock. All these amenities are available at very reasonable and economical packages to the residents of these building blocks. Apart from the amenities and security aspects, the diversity of cultures is one of the joys apartment blocks are offering to their residents. Undoubtedly, living in a residential block has a great social aspect, the feeling of being a part of the community which might enable people to develop life-long connections. The crime statistics from 2016 revealed the fact that those who had been living in building complexes are much safer than those who opt for isolated accommodations or houses.

On the opposite side, there are some visible downsides of living in an apartment. First and foremost, due to crowded nature of apartment buildings, the privacy offered by apartment complexes is less than of living in isolated accommodations. Furthermore, most of the apartments have premium parking, pet restrictions and no availability of gardening opportunities.

Last but not the least, the serious concern of affordable housing in cities is unavoidable, thus by having larger apartment blocks, there are increased opportunities for everyone to get an accommodation in cities at affordable prices. Therefore, huge apartment complexes are economical, safe, convenient and more practical than houses