Many companies sponsor sports as a way to advertise themselves. Some people think this is good for the world of sports, while others think there are disadvantages of this. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

It goes without saying that more and more advertisements are appearing in sports activities or athletic events. Many people opine that using sponsorship for sports to promote brands is a reasonable idea, while others oppose this opinion as they contend that it brings several downsides. I strongly agree that the disadvantages outweigh the advantages.

To commence with, the most benefited object here is obviously not the sports community, but the agencies that sponsor the occasion. By sponsoring some global and well-known sports competitions such as Olympics or World Cup, they will receive huge attention from the audience watching those events all over the world owing to promoting their brand name. Therefore, advertisers are likely to increase sales surprisingly. The main point is that despite the widespread influence, sometimes their promoted products may be inappropriate or improper to be shown on television. As an illustration, alcohol drinks like wine and beer, as well as abusing drugs used to be shown on the billboard of a few sporting occasions.

However, this activity may exist some upsides as well. Sports organizations extremely need a giant amount of funds in order to operate their events. It can not be denied that sponsors are the factors who contribute the most in helping the host pay for expenses, by offering advertisements money. If there were no payment from advertisers, there would appear a lack of cost and it may become impossible to run the event effectively.

In conclusion, despite the aforementioned benefits, sponsorship in sports is literally not a good help.