In many countries, children are becoming overweight and unhealthy. Some people think that the government should have the responsibility. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Childhood obesity has become an alarming sign of deteriorating public health over the world. In this regard, some people believe governments should do whatever is needed to prevent obesity in children. However, I believe that the responsibility of the citizen is the most important key for combating the overweight children crisis.

Ensuring the well-being of its people is one of the government's fundamental role. That is to say, if there is any serious threat to the people, such as childhood obesity, the government will warn and implement effective solutions. Nevertheless, apart from encouraging regular exercise and healthy eating habits, I do not feel that the government can do more things.

The duty to controvert obesity at younger generation should not fall on governments alone, as parents are, for good reason, a greater source of influence on their children's life. It can be seen that obese children are often malnourished because they do not receive appropriate nutrition from their food, a truth that reveals parents' poor choice of diet for their kids. This fact also suggests that parents can have a direct impact on improving their children's health by choosing healthy eating patterns that contain less sugar and fat. To elaborate, a recent Harvard School of Public Health study, which tracked the diet and lifestyle habits of 120,000 children for up to 20 years, found that children who increased their intake of fruit juice gained more weight over time than those who did not. On the other hand, obesity is also caused by lack of physical activity. This can be exemplified the sedentary lifestyle favoured by a large amount of youth nowadays and parents are the only ones who can either encourage or force their children to do more physical tasks or exercise.

In conclusion, of course, the government should do what they can to curb the obesity epidemic but can not also ignore the responsibility of parents because they play a vital role in this war. Therefore, proper care is required from both the government and parents.