In many countries, children are engaged in some kind of paid work. Some people regard this as completely wrong, while others consider it as valuable work experience, important for learning and taking responsibility.

What are your opinions on this?

Children are increasingly taking part in paid voluntary work in different parts of the world. While I agree that learning and experience is promising through this, it can also distract the children from their studies, which is most crucial for their career. This essay will discuss that why children are better off to focus more on their education than involving with any occupation.

On the one hand, Working can instill the children with different skills and abilities. During the job, the children interact and deal with different people, which does not only improve their communication skill, but also enhances their confidence as well. To exemplify, my nephew was unable to even talk with someone in the past, but since he had started a job, he is now more confident and easy to speak in the gathering. In addition, if the children start working from initial days, they will realize the worth of money and become more responsible about their investment. Hence, growth is guaranteed as a result of working, which can have long-lasting impacts on children life.

On the other hand, encouraging the children towards paid jobs, will adversely affect their studies. Some children are not good with multi-tasking due to which carrying out both duties at the same time will be daunting and stressful for them. As a result, their focus will break and they will spent most of their time on the job. The survey conducted in the primary school in USA found, that students who were working along with study had lower grades as compared to those who were not involved in any occupation. Moreover, children are naïve and innocent, and it is likely that they are to be used by criminals for the suspicious activities for few extra bucks. Due to this reason, their whole career will be deteriorated and they might not find the way back in.

In conclusion, either children should be encouraged to earn money or not is a controversial issue. It is undeniable that the working children will be more skillful and better in carrying out their responsibilities; however, their studies might also disrupt as a result. I believe that literacy is indispensable and it is the area where all of the energy should be invested on, though sharing it with work is not advisable at all.