In many countries imprisonment is the most common solution to crimes However some people believe that better education will be a more effective solution To what extent do you agree or disagree

Some people argue that education could become more appropriate towards crimes rather than normal imprisonment. From my perspective I totally agree with this statement because of the advantages of good education.

On the one hand traditional kind of punishment can bring better deterrence by putting criminals in jail. The prevalence of incarceration in many countries might stem from a common belief that prisons are a suitable place to execute punishment on those who violate severe crimes. If illegal activities are shown to have terrible consequences, those who served their sentence will less likely to re-offend the law after being jail. This, however, could prove counterproductive to minor crimes such as shoplifting, pickpocketing. The law-breakers would bear resentment due to difficulty finding regular employment, rather than grow feeling of repentance like being expected.

On the other hand, education could resolve the remained problem with petty crimes and gain more benefits in the long run. Not frightening offenders away like imprisonment. Rehabilitation helps them understand why they should conform to the law willingly. When awareness is raising, the crime rate will also diminish to deter from creating would -be criminals. In the period of sentence, prisoners are inclined to contribute to the society rather than hold a grudge. For instance learning to be a labor worker can lead them to reintegrate like other normal workers.

To sum up, training programs instead of imprisonment would be a more desirable measure as it can raise people's awareness of obeying the law and eliminate grudge one may have after serving their sentence.