Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or working a foreign country Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language Discuss both these views and give your o

In the era of integrating society, speaking more than one language is a ubiquitous demand for every citizen. It is argued, however, over whether foreign language learners acquire this verbal skill to get familiar with the country they intend to live, or if they expand their knowledge for other reasons. This essay will weigh two sides of matter before setting forth my perspective.

To begin with, we are all in an agreement that moving to a strange country requires meticulous preparation, including a good command of language in particular. Whatever they hold advanced qualifications or monetary abundance, linguistic barriers would instill the feeling of low confidence into their mind when they work in a different language speaking country. It is a similar case in terms of traveling, the avid travelers are often bilinguals or polyglots. Owning basic survival skills such as understanding a language would assist them a lot during their journeys. A prime example is when a tourist is threatened by a tiger in a dense forest, he could ask a local ranger wander around for help by the native language.

However, to say that this reasoning is the only motivation is too subjective. There are numerous benefits from mastering a language, besides immigrating and traveling. Concretely, English is long known as the lingua franca since this official language could be the bridge to harmony between different cultures and countries. Thus, using language effectively would lead to the facilitation of international marriage since the wave of viral online dating apps. That is not to mention the vast array of domestic job opportunities that can be found thanks to accomplished linguistic skill. Due to the fact that the increasing labor market exerts much pressure on graduates, those who could communicate fluently with foreigners might be the winners of the job hunting race. A concrete example in Vietnam shows that between two equivalent candidates applying for a position, the Human Resource Department would opt for the person with a high band score of IELTS certificate.

As demand for multiple languages grows in level, many people equip themselves to achieve a broad spectrum of aims, from daily communication to business collaboration. There is a strong correlation between language and future prospects, not merely living abroad.