In many countries, more and more people choose to buy imported food rather than food produced locally. Why people buy imported food? What could be done to encourage people to buy local food?

It is a burgeoning trend in people food choices that, imported food has been escalating than local productions. However, the foremost reason behind the fact that, a negative belief in peoples mind such as imported food would be quality checked and low of cost. The government could tackle this situation by the proper education and apply higher tariff for imported items.

Initially, many importing companies spreads a false information among peoples regarding the quality and quantity would be more in imported foods than local foods. In other words, it is a fact that, many products are fame in the market after the security check up and certification process. Thereby, many people believe that, such products would be better in trait and authentic. For instance, most of the imported products must be verified by certain council and affiliation and pass through legislation and agree the rules and regulations. Moreover, which is often considered that local food preparations were mostly man made and higher efforts than machine prepared and sealed things. Owing to the fact that, little bit changes may reasonable in charges they applied for in compared to packaged and processed items from other areas. People often prefer to bring cheaper items by the effect of inflation and financial crisis.

Nevertheless, local government and food agencies could resolve such trend by constitution, awareness and by levy to some extent. Since, quality check up and regulatory impact must be discriminate equally for alien and indigenous products would lead to reliance for both products among the people. At once, instruct the people about the importance of accept and health benefit of stuffs which is manufactured locally. Get ride of extra tax for national food products and make use of tariff to the things which is coming from other nationalities or countries must be cover by law enforcement. Furthermore, encourage inhabitants to involve food production and avoid excessive dependency of imported stuff which is available in own country. For instance in India, avoid exotic coconut, wheat products and rice.

To sum up, nevertheless, alien products has inevitable stand in national food sector mostly by the poor knowledge of efficiency of local foods, or cost issues. Proper food management in selection and worth usage may mitigate the extreme influence of foreign foods in compared to local cuisines.