In many countries, more and more people choose to buy imported food rather than food produced locally. Why people buy imported food? What could be done to encourage people to buy local food?

These days, it has been observed that imported food is becoming increasingly more popular than local one. It stems from several reasons, based on which some solutions will be adopted to encourage consumers’ preference to food produced domestically.

To begin with, there are several plausible reasons why consumers prefer to the imported food. The first reason is the guarantee of food safety. In fact, thanks to high food safety standards applied in the food production progress in foreign countries, consumers are more confident to use imported food rather than local one. Furthermore, many types of food, including fruits and vegetables are unavailable in some countries, must be imported for consumers to consume. For instance, cherry and kiwi are commonly grown in Western countries, have been imported to Vietnam and other tropical countries to meet for consumers’ demands.

Regarding how to encourage people to consume domestic food, there are some certain effective solutions. One of them could be that it is essential for governments to impose strict regulations of secured food production as well as applying heavy punishments for any violations from producers. Besides, heavy taxes play a crucial role in mitigating the import of food products from foreign nations. More importantly, governments should allocate more fund to food production in order to improve the quality of local food to a higher level. This will stimulate more consumption of homegrown food from their residents.

In conclusion, for the reasons I have mentioned above, I believe that the consumption of imported food is increasing stems from the food security and the unavailability of some regional foods. However, some remedies should be taken action to encourage consumers to support local foods.