As life expectancy is increasing, people work after retirement with pay. Alternatively, some people start to work at a young age. Are these positive or negative impacts?

These days, people are likely to live longer, they tend to continue their work with pay, while others choose to work at a young age. I personally believe that this trend has several detrimental impacts on people’s life as well as a nation’s economy and society as a whole.

On the one hand, since the living standards nowadays are much better than they used to, life expectancy is increasing. This results in the popularity of working with salary after retirement in many nations, which causes some certain demerits. Firstly, elderly people are not physically and mentally healthy enough to fully concentrate on the work compared to young workers. It could lead to negative influences on organizations where they are working for since their employer could pay them more but receive less contribution. Furthermore, elderly employees’ working in a long run can lead to a fierce competition for job seekers in the current job market. In terms of social aspect, government shall allocate more fund to health care service for elderly citizens at the expense of other social welfare services for others.

On the other hand, I am convinced that working at early age has several disadvantages for personal life. One of the negatives is that young workers tend to be immature, they do not have full knowledge about labor code and working regulations. They, as a result, could suffer labor abuse when working in unscrupulous corporations. Another prominent drawback could be that many laborers at a young age are only offered menial jobs due to lack of qualifications and experiences. When working at low-skilled jobs, they shall get low salary without benefits from employers.

In conclusion, in light of reasons I have mentioned above, I am of the opinion that working after retirement or at a young age could be detrimental to employee’s life as well as society as a whole.