Maintaining public libraries is a waste of money since computer technology is now replacing their functions. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is said that it is unessential to spend money on the maintenance of public libraries as their functions are being replaced by computer revolutionization. Although certain benefits that online libraries can offer, I would argue that traditional public libraries should be maintained due to several reasons.

On the one hand, it is true that computer technology is increasingly developing and for this reason, virtual libraries seem to be used as an alternative for conventional libraries. In fact, thanks to the appearance of computer and revolutionized technology, a limitless supply of digital-based information with up-to-date reading materials has been served for many people who have preference to reading thru the internet. Moreover, e-book readers find it more convenient to have access to digital library resources in anytime and anywhere compared to public libraries.

However, I believe that traditional libraries are unreplaceable, so it is necessary to have them maintained due to several reasons. One of them is that public libraries archive worthy sources of materials, ranging from copyrighted manuscripts to rare books of reputable writers, which are more likely to be unavailable in online libraries. More importantly, library users can read more reliable sources of information, while the content of online sources tend to be uncensored leading to a misinformed public. Another compelling reason is that compared to digital libraries, traditional ones offer a quiet space for those who need fully concentrate on reading their favourite things.

In conclusion, for the reasons I have mentioned above, although digital libraries play an important role in storing a great amount of information and their convenience, I am strongly convinced that public libraries should be maintained for a long time in order to maintain a well-informed society.