Some universities offer online courses as an alternative to classes delivered on campus.

Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

These days, due to the popularity of online courses, the question of whether e-learning or going to campus for learning has become the heat of concern. While it is true that online studying has some certain negatives, I believe that it is a positive development.

On the one hand, there are some plausible reasons why e-learning is detrimental in some extent. Firstly, for those studying online, they could be more easily distracted by other things, which negatively affects to educational outcomes. Furthermore, compared to traditional classes, those who study through online courses are likely to be less controlled in classes by teachers as well as less face-to-face discussion with their peers. As a result, students’ soft skills, such as team work skills and public speaking skills could decrease compared to other candidates in job seeking process or in working environment in the future.

However, I believe that this e-learning can be considered as a positive development due to several reasons. One of them could be that it offers students, especially mature learners, a flexibility of time and location. Indeed, many senior people can work full time and participate in online courses in order to obtain a higher level of education, such as MBA. Another compelling reason could be that online university courses can help learners save a huge amount of money. For instance, when going to campus of foreign institutes for studying, students must pay not only tuition fee, but also many types of fee, ranging from accommodation to daily expenses. Instead of that, learners can cut those costs thanks to online courses.

In conclusion, while online studying has some certain demerits, I am strongly convinced that this trend is more positive since it offers more benefits for learners, including the flexible time and location as well as money saving.