It is expected that there will be a higher proportion of older people than that of young people in many countries in the future.

Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

It is expected that in some parts of the world, the aged population will become more increasingly compared to young age. In my opinion, this development has both positive and negative effects to family and society in an equal measure.

On the one hand, elderly citizens can bring some benefits to their family and country. One of these advantages is the burden of childcare of parents would be significantly decrease thanks to the willing helps of healthy grandparents. Indeed, grandparents can contribute greatly to looking after children since nowadays parents are engrossed in working in the daytime. Thanks to this, the bonds between grandparents and grandchildren would be cultivated and become more close-knit. Furthermore, elderly people possess traditional values and rich experience compared to young ones. Therefore, they can become perfect advisers or guiders for youngsters when living or working with them.

On the other hand, the increasing percentage of popularity of elderly people in many countries of the world can lead to negative effects to society in some aspects. One of them is that governments must pay pensions for longer. It leads to high pressure on the economy of a nation. More seriously, governments need more health facilities for their elderly citizens. In fact, they must invest more fund in constructing more hospitals or clinics at expense of other social welfare services, such as infrastructure or education.

In conclusion, for the reasons I have mentioned above, I believe that the higher proportion of older people than that of young people in many countries can bring both advantageous and disadvantageous effects to family and society as a whole.