In many countries not enough students are choosing to study science subjects What are the causes And what will be the effects on society

Many schools suppose that there is a shortage of science students. While it is necessary to identify the possible causes of this trend, it is also important to predict its effects on society.

First and foremost, it is undoubted that science courses usually too hard to study, which sometimes as a deterrent. In fact, apart from a few students who get a good grasp of science fields, most students get a sense of anxiety as they have to deal with science subjects such as mathematics and chemical and so on. Worse still, some of the students even fall behind their subjects and drop out of their colleges. Another cause could be significant influences of genders on selecting subjects in many countries. For example, while some countries which have to primarily be reliant on tourism sectors tend to allocate more resources on artistic and literate heritages, related majors are more attracted to female students than their male counterparts.

Consequently, this trend results in some disadvantages in our societies. Firstly, a job imbalance probably would be brought about, which negatively effects on societies. While a number of non-science students exert higher pressure on related job markets such as singers and composers, the lack of students who are equipped with science knowledge leads to a decreasing trend of the number of trained professionals to find solutions to urgent issues such as searching for alternative energy sources and fighting against climate change. Secondly, this trend is sometimes not suitable for developments of some countries that need to take industrial sectors into their considerations, so this trend then leads to an increase in unemployment rates in such countries.

In conclusion, the tendency of selecting non-science subjects is quite ubiquitous in some countries for some reasons and this trend brings some drawbacks to us.