In many countries not enough students are choosing to study science subjects. What are the causes? And what will be the effects on society?

It is evident that the number of students deciding to enroll in science subjects is very low in many nations. This essay would point out compelling reasons for this trend and some impacts of this on our community.

To begin with, it is undeniable that the job opportunities related to science are still limited in developing countries. This prevents students from engaging in this major because of the fear of being unemployed after graduating. Instead of taking risk of choosing the science, some other multi-billion industries such as business, production or marketing would be safer for these students. Secondly, a lack of investment in many poor and developing nations in terms of experts and equipment also becomes the main factor to take into consideration when choosing this subject. For example, students would like to experiment with a new chemical substance, however, schools do not provide the necessary tools to practice. As a result, this makes students not able to develop their research progress, which discourages these people to follow.

On the other hand, there are some understandable impacts on a particular nation if they could not attract more students to choose this subject. The most significant effect is that the reliance of these nations on other industrialized nations would be huge. This means that their society would have to base on other nations’ inventions, or cost more budget to import certain equipment in order not to be backward compared to others. For instance, Vietnam could not manufacture a car, therefore, they have to purchase the old and second-hand buses from Korea to run the public transport system. Consequently, the environment in Vietnam has been affected adversely due to the high fuel consumption of these obsolete cars.

In conclusion, a lack of investment and the limited job opportunity are two principal reasons for not having enough students for science subjects, therefore, the environmental problem and the slow development of a particular nation are inevitable.