In many countries, the number of animals and plants are declining. Why do you think is it happening? How to solve this issue?

There is no doubt that over the last decades, the fauna and flora in many countries around the globe is diminishing at a worrying rate. This essay will shed some light on the reasons of this and propose solutions to mitigate this problem.

One of the main causes of this phenomenon is deforestation. Indeed, the clearing of forests for the development of civilizations has resulted in the destruction of habitats for many animals and the depletion of their food supply. Deforestation with no regards to the conservation of unique plant species has resulted in the extinction of many of them. To tackle this issue, the government and responsible authorities should regulate the clearing of land, and promote reforestation. This should result in an improvement in the ecosystem and wild life.

Another major contributing factor is climate change. With the rise in the earth's temperature due to an increase in carbon emissions, numerous plants and animals are unable to adapt to their new environmental conditions. For instance, a subtle rise in sea water temperature can destroy planktons which are the primary food source of certain sea creatures. To combat this problem, the countries with the most carbon emissions should undertake efforts to curb them for the greater good. As a result, the effects of man driven climate change on the ecosystem would be mitigated.

In conclusion, two of the main causes of the decline in animal and plant species are deforestation and climate change. However, these can be managed through tougher regulations around land clearing and limiting gas emissions.