In many countries, people like to eat a wider range of food that cannot be grown in their local place. Therefore, much of the food people eat today has to come from other regions. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh disadvantages?

These days, it is quite common for people to eat foods that are not, or cannot, be cultivated or produced where they live. As a consequence, more and more residents become fans of overseas cuisine. In my perspective, I think that this trend has both pros and cons effects and this essay will outline them below.

Thanks to globalization, it is easier than ever to move goods including food from one country to another, people now can easily taste a diverse array of foods like never before. This tendency has many advantages. Firstly, having access to a wide variety of foods from different regions can provide people with a highly nutritious diet that can help to promote health and prevent disease. For example, some kinds of nutrient-rich berries that can only be grown in Asia can now be enjoyed by people all over the world. Furthermore, those who are interested in food culture in another country can experience it without leaving their own country.

On the other hand, like two sides of a coin, there are also catastrophic influences that should be considered. The high and prolonged consumption of international foods will force governments have to import more and that push them into a situation called the trade deficit. The trade deficit causes many disastrous issues on the economy such as depleting foreign currency reserves and inflation. In addition, another trouble with this phenomenon is that the constant transportation of foods over long distances contributes to climate change due to the large amount of carbon emissions produced by transportation. And lastly, there are many foods that are transported from one area to another need to be treated with chemicals and preservatives which make them less healthy to consume.

In conclusion, although food diversification can bring many benefits, personally, I believe that the disadvantages of this trend are still outweighed.