In many countries, plastic bags are one of the main sources of damage to the environment, and so they should be banned. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The prime cause of environmental damage arises from the use of plastic bags in lots of nations, and hence polythene carry bags has to be banned. I totally agree to this notion as plastic bag are a major source of pollution in river water, oceans, air and soil. Many of the diseases such as cancers are now attributed to various chemicals present in plastics substances.

Firstly, pollution is a major issues today, and plastics can harm the nature by contaminating our water sources such as rivers. Moreover, marine life is also destroyed when water from the land containing plastic waste enters the sea. People who do not know the importance of proper recycling of waste tend to burn them, which eventually leads to the release of dangerous fumes in to the atmosphere thus decreasing the quality of the air that we breath. Not even earth is spared by the carry bags which are burried by some as a method of disposal, ultimately burried plastic can prevent water from the surface to enter the deep soil and can cause flooding and ground water scarcity.

Secondly, health of the citizens in theses countries is jeopardized by all the above ways of pollution that the plastic produces. In the manufacturing and disposal of plastic materials will produce a myriad of artificial chemical substance, when human beings and animals exposed to them can develope a plethora of tumours and diseases which are life threatening. Therefore, plastic is a menace and should be banned.

To end, plastic produces various types of pollution and consequently it creates illness among the people. I strongly agree to the idea of banning plastic by many countries in a move to combat environmental damage.