Many countries spend much money in developing tourism industry. Tourism is often considered as a promising industry that supports economic development. However, some people think that it destroys natural surroundings and traditions. Which do you agree with?

It is true that governments invest a great amount of money developing tourism business. Although the industry can promote local economy, it seems that tourism industry may cause too much damage to the local environment and culture. This essay will discuss the issue in detail.

To begin with, there are some people aruging that tourism certainly benefit to many developing countries in financial ways. According to them, tourism encourage people to visit new countries and that results in spending much money in experiencing culture and living style of the hosting country. For instance, the statistics shows that Brazil earned a great amount of revenue after hosting 2016 Olympics. However, despite economic benefits, the tourism business can accompany environment and culture risks.

Firstly, this business can destruct the nature. To specify this, due to the construction of seaside resorts along with pubs and nightclubs the costal scenery is ruined. Additionally, tourism also violates local culture. Since local people adapt to the new and advanced culture easily, when they contact with tourists, their authenticity is lost. As an example, Jeju island was popular with their distinctive traditional custom. However, due to many years contact with tourists, we can barely see local speaking and living in old lifestyle.

In conclusion, as discussed above, i personally disagree with the opinion that the goverment should spend more budget to the tourism industry. This us because tourism seems to have many disadvantages such as contribution to destruction of nature and culture.