In many countries today, people buy a range of household goods (television, microwave, oven and rice cookers). Is it a positive or negative development?

In recent years, thank to the outburst of technology, a huge number of household supplies are invented, such as rice cookers, ovens, televisions or microwaves, which have become an indispensable part of our daily life. From my perspective, this development brings both pros and cons to not only individual but also environmental level.

Initially, the increasing number of state-of-the-art inventions make our life more convenient and heighten the living standard. Instead of consuming a huge amount of time for household chores, inhabitants can put more concentration on work and study, or pursue their own passions, therefore more chances for promoting at work could be gained. For example, dishwashers support humans in doing the dishes after meals, or washing machine helps users in reducing efforts put on clean clothes. As a result, the more time they can save from doing housework, the more money and achievements they can reach, and it benefits both individuals and society.

On the other hand, producing technological productions has adverse impacts on the environment. It is proven that the process of making new devices discharges a significant number of pollutants to the surroundings, not only affecting human health but also gradually leading to serious environmental issues, such as the most noticeable problem in recent years is global warming. Besides, the technological outbreak also results in the dependence of some people on these supplies. A number of people can not live independently from automatic gadgets due to the fact that they have no basic skills. If these people are put into a situation that does not have modern technology, they will find it hard to adapt and survive.

In conclusion, the growth in household applications consumption has benefited our life apparently, however, those downsides are also having to be considered deliberately.