In many countries today, people in cities either live alone or in small family units, rather than in large, extended family groups. Is this a positive or negative trend?

It is true that the urban residents of several nations live in small one-person households in lieu of extended families. From my perspective, I believe this is overall a negative trend despite minor benefits it may bring about.

There is no doubt that this tendency has a positive effect on people. This typically spotlights that living alone leads us to a more convenient life. For those who live alone, they will have a flexible time schedule since they do not have to follow others’ rules. For instance, when people have to deal with a huge amount of workload, people living alone will stay at the office until they finish, and this is more and more convenient than going home. Furthermore, a more independent lifestyle is another benefit reaped from living alone. The less family scale, the more individuals have to tackle their daily activities, contributing to the ability to stand on their own feet.

Regardless of the minor advantages mentioned above, I believe this is a negative trend. First, living alone is more likely to make people turn into apathetic individuals. If a person lives alone, he or she will not have the capacity to connect with other people, and thus, resulting in poor interpersonal skills and less social contact. As a result, our community has become more and more insensitive. Second, living in a small-scaled family makes people less concerned about relatives. The young generation is prone to forget their root and become ‘rootlessness’. Only when living in a large-scale family, family members will have more opportunity to connect and express caring to their relatives. This helps people acknowledge where they belong to.

In conclusion, all the existing reasons provide a concrete foundation that the tendency of living in smaller households may result in a wide range of adverse effects, and thus, is a negative issue in today’s society.