In many cities, there is little control on the design and construction of new homes and office buildings, and people can build houses in their own style. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such a situation?

It is true that easily designing and constructing houses and office buildings can be implemented individually because there is little inspection from the government. I believe there are arguments both for and against this view.

On the one hand, easily designing and constructing their own houses and offices is harmful in some ways. The first prominent justification is that little control on construction will lead to higher coming costs owing to the fact that the unscheduled urban area will have to pay residents for clearance costs in the future. Furthermore, the more diversity in housing design, the less specific characteristics the city can have. For instance, uncontrolled design may lead to lots of slums and sprawling estates.

On the other hand, I would argue that these disadvantages are outweighed by the advantages. Firstly, if there are not any regulations on housing constructing, residents will be able to have higher living standards because they can live in the way that they desire. Secondly, designing our own homes without constraint contributes to increasing the income of architects due to the fact that only when there is a demand for designing, will the architecture industry be promoted. Finally, having little control on office building construction stimulates more creativity for architects to create highlighted buildings for cities. For example, Landmark 81 and Bitexco, symbols for Ho Chi Minh City, are two of the skyscrapers based on little control.

In conclusion, for the reasons mentioned above, it is obvious to acknowledge the dominant benefits of this inclination, but the possible drawbacks of easily designing and constructing houses and office buildings should not be overlooked.