Popular hobbies and interests change over time and are more a reflection of trends and fashions than an indication of what individuals really want to do in their spare time. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many leisure activities definitely exist for a fleeting moment, whereas others appear to be popular over the course of time. I partly agree with the idea that these hobbies demonstrate trends rather than our compassion.

There are many trendy activities which children and adults enjoy doing in their free time. Men and women in today’s society, for instance, are obsessed with what their peers take part in, such as fitness training and doing yoga. These activities may have some minor benefits, but the spread of them mainly stems from the craze sweeping through our community. In a similar way, there have been some ephemeral trends amongst the children, such as fidget spinner, Rubik’s cube, and squidgies. I doubt whether the majority of the population continued to enjoy those leisure activities in the long term.

In contrast to the trends mentioned above, some hobbies and interests are acknowledged to be timeless, and they do not reflect a temporary movement. Chess which has been existing for many centuries epitomises this statement. An overwhelming number of children, adults or even senior citizens are pursuing this sport. It is not the popularity, but the absorbing playing style and unique strategies which have been making players passionate about throughout history. Chess will absolutely thrive and remain perennially popular in the future. The same could be applied for a range of other activities like reading and swimming.

In conclusion, some leisure activities are momentary and others are timeless. The view which these hobbies indicate trends and fashions rather than genuine interests is not an accurate argument under any circumstances.