Many countries use fossil fuels such as coal or oil as the main sources of energy. However, in some countries the use of alternative sources of energy is encouraged. Do you think this a positive or negative development?

Determining the major source of energy has been high on agenda in the 21st century. When fossil fuels are gradually substituted by the application of alternative ones in several countries, it seems to me that this transition exerts positive influences because of the following reasons.

To begin with, it is recommended that fossil fuels should be replaced due to many drawbacks. Firstly, its negative impacts on the environment have been recognized. Indeed, the combustion of coal or oil releases an excessive load of volatile organic compound and greenhouse gases, which can be the major contributing factors to many urgent environmental problems, such as global warming, greenhouse effect or ozone layer depletion. Another minus stems from its limited supply. In fact, fossil fuels were accumulated by a complicated process, lasting for thousands of years. With the great demand for fossil energy today, it is predicted to be exhausted in the near future. In other words, if a country maintains its reliance on fossil fuels, it is more likely to suffer from an energy crisis in the upcoming years.

On the other hand, there are several strengths making alternative sources of energy advantageous. The first one is their environmentally friendliness. Specifically, studies have revealed that compared to fossil fuel, the application of solar power or wind energy contaminates a much lower amount of polluting agents. This creates a cut down on emissions, helping the society alleviate environmental problems due to our daily activities. Furthermore, the aforementioned challenge makes fossil fuels a stopgap measure for the energy demand. By contrast, alternative energy, the generation of which involves renewable sources, may tackle this problem by offering an unlimited supply.

Briefly, I believe that with their superiorities over fossil fuels, alternative sources of energy should be promoted to achieve sustainable development for nations.