In many countries, very few young people read newspapers or follow the news on TV. What do you think are the causes of this?What solutions can you suggest?

It is a proven fact that, young people are no longer interested in reading the newspapers or follow the TV for updated news. However, young people do interested in news and they depend on other sources like websites and social networking sites.

The usage of internet has been increasing in many countries and it is helping the young people to get least news or current affairs. Though newspapers provide trust worthy information, young people mostly depend on internet. Apart from internet, there are several other reasons too. Traditional newspapers or TV shows are mainly focused on mid age group. Young people are no longer showing interest in the content written in news articles or on the TV debates. It is important for the news agencies to make some changes to the traditional approach and focus more on the teenagers.

In a recent survey, it has proved that, youngsters are more interested in entertainment news such as Sports and Movies. Therefore, the focus of newspapers should be more on these topics to attract more readers from teenage age group. Moreover, to persuade them to read a newspaper, we should tell them about the benefits they can reap from reading newspapers.

To conclude, young people do not read newspapers because they can receive news from other sources like internet. In addition, they are not interested in the content created by newspapers or in the news channels. However, by creating content or news interested to young readers, newspaper or news channel can win the young readers too.