Modern communications mean that it’s no longer necessary to write letters.To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Over a last decade or so, we have seen a revolution in technology and that lead to evolution in modern communication. Back in time, people used to write letters to communicate with each other and to exchange the news. In a modern era of telephone and internet, writing personal mails is no longer necessary.

There are many reasons why people are tending to use modern technology to communicate. First, 20th century is a materialistic life and having a conversation in a phone or texting a person is easier than writing a letter. This would be the main reason why the current generation is using modern technology to communicate. Second, using modern communication methods can help the environment. In this way, we could use less paper, which means more trees. Environmental social activists are taking extra measures to bring the awareness about the cutting trees. Third, emerging of IT technologies and jobs in IT sector makes us feel like, writing an email is more professional than writing a personal mail. A well-written email can help to get a good job in the competitive world.

However, there are certain times where writing a personal letter is an important. It might bring the extra joy and can add a bit of emotional touch in the family. Motivational mails can be stored for longer duration and can be viewed later whenever we are down in the dumps.

In my opinion, yes, I completely agree that with the help of modern communication methods, writing a letter is no longer necessary. However, there could be certain times, writing a letter is more important than texting a person.