Modern communications mean that it’s no longer necessary to write letters.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

We are living in an era of technology, where we are getting an alternative for almost all the old things we used to do in past. Aforementioned topic “replacement of old communication mediums by modern means” is the one which has support of both the groups with a view of using and not using conventional ways of communication. There are people who have their own reasons to support old communication mediums and a majority is present as well who support the change in this area of life as well. According to my poor understanding, both have their own significance and benefits as well however, we should embrace the change with open arms and make ourselves ready for the change.

People who think that writing a letter is obsolete and should be replaced, have a logic of their own. If you further dig down in your research on this group, you will find a huge number of youngsters who are supporting these communication platforms. According to them, it is a waste of time and resources to write a letter, dispatch it and then wait for the reply as it takes a long time in this practice. They are in favor of using modern means of communication which includes Email, Text messages, Whatsapp, Twitter and other social media platforms. You can find that in offices where you have majority of young people working, they have created different groups on these social media apps which is helping them in closing their official matters in a more efficient ways as taking permission or giving some important information (to group or one on one) becomes more efficient and less time taking.

On the contrary, people who are in job for a long time till now and are not tech-savoy, are more comfortable in using conventional method of writing letters or sending fax for taking approvals. They have their own reasons of sticking to their logic which includes comfort zone, affection and security of information or data that they send to a specific recipient.

To conclude this, I would like to put my views which are in favor of adopting change but at the same time, we must not forget the values of old things/mediums which were in practice as this can help us in remembering our basics.